Latest Sightings

For more information on some of Hartlebury Common’s key species check out the Flora & Fauna section by clicking on the following link: Flora and Fauna

Please feel free to email us your sightings to: sightings@hartleburycommon.org.uk:

Monday 4th November 2019: 1 Meadow Pipit present in the former plantation area.  The Marsh Tit remains in the SE Oak wood

Tuesday 29th October 2019:  13 Lesser Redpoll flew over the Common calling as they headed West.  The Marsh Tit remains in the SE Oak wood area.

Sunday 27th October 2019: 4 Meadow Pipits feeding in grassy areas amongst heather on SE heath.  Marsh Tit still present at SE Oak wood. 2 Peacock butterflies observed basking on south facing side of dead Oak tree.

Wednesday 23rd October 2019: A single Blackening Waxcap and many Snowy Waxcap fungi out on Lower Heath.  Marsh Tit still present at edge of SE Oak wood

Tuesday 22nd October 2019: A Marsh Tit was present in the SE Oak Wood this afternoon (first record of this species for in recent years).  A Meadow Pipit was flushed from the SE heath.

Saturday 5th October 2019: The scarce Ivy leaf spider Nigma walckenaeri recorded on Hartlebury Common for the first time.  2 recorded on Ivy leaves at the SE Oak wood

Tuesday 17th September 2019: Fly Agaric fungi now out on Lower Heath

Monday 2nd September 2019: Ivy Bees (Colletes hederae) now active around nest sites on the Common

Sunday 18th August 2019: 5 Brown Argus recorded on the Common (2 on Lower Heath and 3 on SE area of heathland).  Also today, 2 male Emerald Damselflies present on Rush Pool

Tuesday 6th August 2019: There are now 2 Green Woodpeckers present on the SE side of the Common

Monday 5th August 2019: The following butterflies were recorded on the transect: 1 Small/Essex Skipper; 13 large White; 11 Small White; 8 Green-veined White; 7 Small Copper; 2 Brown Argus; 1 Common Blue; 3 Holly Blue; 4 painted lady; 4 Peacock; 5 Speckled Wood; 191 Gatekeeper; 36 meadow Brown; 1 Small Heath.

Thursday 1st August 2019: The following butterflies were recorded on the Transect:  6 Small/Essex Skipper; 11 large White; 8 Small White; 15 Green-veined White; 1 Purple Hairstreak; 5 Small Copper; 1 Painted Lady; 1 Small Tortoiseshell; 4 Peacock; 9 Speckled Wood; 109 Gatekeeper; 9 Meadow Brown; 1 Ringlet; 2 Small Heath.

Thursday 1st August 2019: There were 2 Migrant Hawkers present along path at side of The Bog.  2 Lesser Stag Beetles founder underneath a decaying log.  Juvenile Green Woodpecker still present on SE side of the Common.

Wednesday 24th July 2019: The following Butterflies recorded on upper Terrace:  5 Small/Essex Skipper, 5 Large White, 4 Small White, 2 Green- veined White, 2 Purple Hairstreak, 3 Small Copper, 6 Peacock, 2 Comma, 3 Speckled Wood, 52 Gatekeeper, 19 Meadow Brown, 3 Ringlet and 1 Small Heath. 

Tuesday 23rd July 2019: A Painted Lady caterpillar discovered on a thistle in it’s larval tent.

Sunday 21st July 2019: A juvenile Green Woodpecker was present this afternoon.  This is the first sighting of this former Hartlebury Common breeding species in 2019.

Thursday 18th July 2019: A 2nd brood female Brimstone butterfly present on western side of the Common.  Two Yellow-legged Clearwing moths also present

Tuesday 16th July 2019: Butterfly transects recorded a total of 219 butterflies: 32 Small/Essex Skippers (probably mostly Essex), 2 Large White; 16 Small White, 1 Green- veined White, 2 Purple Hairstreak, 5 Small Copper, 1 Small Tortoiseshell, 3 Comma, 6 Speckled Wood, 7 Marbled White, 84 Gatekeeper, 27 Meadow Brown, 20 Ringlet, 2 Small Heath.

Sunday 14th July 2019:  A queen Brown-  banded Carder Bee (Bombus humilis) was observed on the SE side of the Common

Saturday 13th July 2019:  Long- winged Conehead nymph discovered at Lower Heath.  This is a first site record for this species of bush cricket.

Friday 12th July 2019: Lots of Beewolf and Sand Tailed Digger Wasps on the common today.

Monday 8th July 2019: 196 butterflies recorded on the transect: 13 Small Skipper, 1 Essex Skipper, 9 Large White, 1 Small White, 2 Small Copper, 3 Painted Lady, 2 Comma, 4 Speckled Wood, 26 Marbled White, 76 Meadow Brown, 54 Ringlet, 5 Small Heath.

Monday 8th July 2019: Beewolf (Philanthus triangulum) wasps now on the wing on the Common

Sunday 7th July:  3 Essex Skippers recorded on Lower Heath this afternoon (Small Skippers also present).  Also, a single Gatekeeper was present on bracken near The Bog.

Saturday 6th July:  Despite the damp drizzly conditions, 12 Pantaloon Bees (11 male and 1 female) were recorded at rest on a number of thistle flowers.

Friday 5th July 2019: 111 butterflies recorded on the transect today.  2 Purple Hairstreak, 2 Small Copper, 3 Painted Lady, 1 Small Tortoiseshell, 1 Comma, 4 Speckled Wood, 8 Marbled White, 59 Meadow Brown, 25 Ringlet, 5 Small Heath and a Yellow Shell moth.

Thursday 4th July 2019: Pantaloon Bees (Dasypoda hirtipes) now active on SE area of the Common.  Adult Mottled Grasshoppers also observed today

Monday 1st July 2019: Good numbers of Yellow- legged Clearwing moth present with 5 females and 3 males recorded

Friday 28th June 2019: A family party of Spotted Flycatchers present.  Also first Small Skipper butterfly of the year observed.  A Hobby flew west over the Common at 8:40 pm

Thursday 27th June 2019:  4 male Scarce Chasers observed at Hillditch Pool today, two of which were showing visible mating scars (a sign of successful breeding)

Thursday 27th June 2019: 83 butterflies were recorded on the transect. 2 Large Skipper, 1 Large White, 1 Small Copper, 2 Red Admiral, 17 Painted Lady, 5 Small Tortoiseshell, 1 Peacock, 4 Marbled White, 19 Meadow Brown, 25 Ringlet, 6 Small Heath

Wednesday 26th June 2019: A single Painted Lady butterfly was present on the Lower Heath

Saturday 22nd June 2019: The following species and counts were recorded on the Butterfly Transect:  1 Small White, 1 Large White, 2 Common Blue, 3 Small Tortoiseshell, 2 Peacock, 2 Speckled Wood, 9 Meadow Brown, 2 Ringlet, 14 Small Heath

Friday 21st June 2019: A mating pair of Scarce Chasers observed at Hillditch Pool

Sunday 16th June 2019: White-  legged Damselfly (female) at Lower Heath

Saturday 1st June 2019:  Scarce Chaser dragonflies emerged at Hillditch Pool.  Brown Argus on wing at Lower Heath

Sunday 19th May 2019: Red Kite drifted over the Common during Green Hairstreak hunt event.  12 Green Hairstreaks and 1 male Emperor Moth were observed during event

Saturday 18th May 2019:  Water Ladybird recorded at Hillditch Pool (first record of this species at the site)

Saturday 11 May 2109:  First annual sighting of Minotaur Beetle on the Common

Friday 3rd May 2019: Garden Warbler singing at edge of SE Oak wood

Sunday 21st April 2019: Lesser Whitethroat singing

Saturday 20th April 2019: Cuckoo calling

Friday 19th April 2019:  First Green Hairstreak butterfly on wing

Sunday 7th April 2019: Bloody- nosed Beetles now active on Common

Sunday 7th April 2019: Dotted Bee- Fly (Bombylius discolor) recorded at Hartlebury Common for the first time

Thursday 28th March 2019: First Emperor Moth of year observed

Wednesday 20th March 2019: Early Colletes bees (Colletes cunicularius) now active at nest site

Top
MENU